nixtress's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

boys and birthdays

Mother Nature is a fruit loop. Where else but Ohio can it be 0 degrees F with a windchill of -15 on one day, and 40 flipping degrees the next? The lying-weathermen state tonite will bring showers with an inch or so of rain accumulation...and tomorrow we'll have sleet, freezing rain and possibly snow showers. WHERE IS SPRING? Am I going to have to move out of the US to find decent weather patterns?

Livingwreck...in Australia right? tell me what the weather's like there...I know it gets hot..but is it hot RIGHT NOW?

One of the women I work with, the only one I count as a true friend (who happens to be old enough to be my mother and has sort of adopted me) bought me this cookbook as an early birthday present, on meals to make in a slow cooker/crock pot. And I love it. I've never seen a cookbook that uses things I actually use..or doesn't use things I don't use like..artichoke hearts, or anchovies. Anyway, the boys and I made this yummy casserole from it last nite..and they actually ATE it!!!

Just so everyone knows, I've got one son who would eat a cardboard box if you put it in front of him (Trevor) and another who won't eat anything he can't identify every little piece of (Ryan). Nine times out of ten, Ryan won't even taste something that doesn't look appetizing to him..he's such the food snob :P Guess I need to work on my presentation skills or something. So anyway, they both ate it well and enjoyed it. YAY.

Good mom that I am, I made sure to remember that today is Ry's library day, and included his book in his bag to return for a new one. We, regrettably, forgot last week and I didn't hear the end of it til just this morning. And I swear by all that is holy, if I find one more dirty little boy sock stuffed behind the dresser I'm going to put the cruddy dresser in the middle of the room so nothing can be stuffed behind it AGAIN!

Ok..I feel better now. ;)

My darling sons have hit the point in their lives where they're realizing exactly how much fun it is to inflict pain on one another. Trev's main complaint today was that Ry had been practicing his splinting techniques after first bending Trev's lil pinkie finger halfway to his wrist yesterday. Ry's big booboo was from Trevor pinching him repeatedly. What, pray tell, is the thrill in hearing someone else yelp in pain? Have I been raising lil sadomasochists? Or are these normal boy discoveries they'll grow out of? I don't get it..but then I don't get how little boys are born knowing how to make machine gun noises with their mouths either.

*shrug*

OH YES. I almost forgot! For those of you who don't know (most of you) Thursday March 13th is my BIRTHDAY!!! I'll be ancient...28 years old. So this is a shameless plug for bday wishes :) aren't I the subtle duck :P

Off to find something constructive offline to do. Have a lovely day all.

N.

10:22 a.m. - 2003-03-04

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

boxx9000
sixweasels
la-the-sage
singledadguy
nmnohr
Batten
myownjourney
nicim
swimmmer72
stwig
thunderstorm
lerin
theflyingrat
ochweidnit
selaith
rugged