nixtress's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

lakes and lucidity

mmm no more headache. Life is good. Woke up on this humpiest of days and realized it was pouring rain..much nicer than snow, in my book. Gives me that lazy hazy dazy feeling :P of wanting to curl up with my book and pretend nothing else exists or needs done (like dishes and laundry).

Took the boys to school, ran to Gramma's and we had a small breakfast together (me a muffin, she a bowl of peaches,a can of Ensure and a cup of coffee) and reminisced about days when I was younger and the entire family spent the summer at the lake. My grandmother and grandfather had a cottage at this lake near us, and my best summertime memories revolve around my father's family and our summers there. Tons of cousins roaming, and aunts and uncles playing cards into the night while we fell asleep to the flickering of the t.v. and muted laughter in the other room. Bingo played by countless amounts of older people under the pavilion until the mosquitos got voracious, and then we kids snagging the next day all the stupid rubber marking-things that had fallen below the tables. Hunting for frogs and toads amid the lily pads in the shallow end of the lake, out where the boats don't go and the beach isn't. Sunburns that felt like your skin was was literally on fire, made better by Gramma's strange concoction of cucumbers and something..swimming until it felt like your blood had been replaced by sandy, silty water..

I've taken the boys out there a time or two but it's not the same. The cottage is owned by someone else now, and the families have all wandered away. It's neat, though, to have those memories.

Gramma was having strong moments of lucidity this morning, and it was nice.

I hear my dishes calling..I'll be back later ;)

Happy Humpday, everyone.

N.

9:21 a.m. - 2003-03-05

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

boxx9000
sixweasels
la-the-sage
singledadguy
nmnohr
Batten
myownjourney
nicim
swimmmer72
stwig
thunderstorm
lerin
theflyingrat
ochweidnit
selaith
rugged