nixtress's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

happy birthday to me

Today is my birthday and I turn 28.

In 28 years, I've learned how to mediate drunk people, raised my brother,been the first female in 3 generations to graduate high school and done so with honors, gotten married and divorced, lost a baby and begun the process of raising others, been heartbroken and overjoyed, worked at educating myself, and educated myself about work, loved and lost and loved again,taken trips by myself just to feel the freedom, discovered my own independence and immersed myself in it,realized some of my potential, uncovered strengths I didn't know I had, started the buying of a home, settled in a town that I'm probably related to half of, watched people I love disintegrate, people I love being born, people I love dying..

I've lived my life to the best of my ability, so far.

My sons woke me up this morning, jumping up and down on my bed gleefully screeching birthday joy. I squeezed them senseless and then we had breakfast. I can't imagine a better way to wake up :) I can't imagine a greater gift than to see the best part of my life as soon as I open my eyes, and be reminded what a privilege it is to grow a year older with these wonderful little human beings.

And so, this birthday, this 28th year of being, I'm grateful and not sad.

N.

10:47 a.m. - 2003-03-13

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

boxx9000
sixweasels
la-the-sage
singledadguy
nmnohr
Batten
myownjourney
nicim
swimmmer72
stwig
thunderstorm
lerin
theflyingrat
ochweidnit
selaith
rugged