nixtress's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

mini-rant of mice and men

I'm not going to post my thoughts on the whole looming-war-with-Iraq situation. I think most everyone else I've read lately has covered my thoughts on the idea and I'll leave it at that. Bush also known as straggling Shrub is not my most favoritest of guys.

And I only have a little minor rant on another topic. I understand that everyone has preferences about the people they talk to or even the people they write to. A situation came to my attention the other day that irked me. Say you're typing back and forth with someone, getting along just fine, having chitty chat convos and what have you, and getting along nicely just on a friendly level. Say that person then sent you a pic and you found they weren't as you pictured them, either in a good way or a bad way. How would you react? Would you immmediately begin avoiding that person? OR say that person saw you and then began to avoid you..how would you take it? My personal opinion is that if I liked you well enough to talk to in the beginning, before seeing how ugly/hot you are, I'll like you the same AFTER seeing you. Because I like to think I'm not all that shallow and that my thoughts on a person are based on personality and not strictly on the basis of looks. One of the things I've enjoyed about being online is that I've come to know some people that I probably wouldn't have had contact with otherwise and vice versa. And honestly-typing here, if you find yourself not wanting to talk to someone after seeing the way they look, or even just finding out more about them, isn't it kinder to tell them it's just not going well, than to string them along and make up excuses for your real feelings?

Grr..someone I know was hurt by this same situation recently, and I think overall it just sucks. Be you, be happy being you, be real and don't play trippy head games. Life has too much to offer to spend most of it jerking people around.

Stepping off the soapbox now :) It's proving to be another lovely day today and I am going to go..do something productive out in it.

Have a wonderful day one and all.

N.

10:32 a.m. - 2003-03-17

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

boxx9000
sixweasels
la-the-sage
singledadguy
nmnohr
Batten
myownjourney
nicim
swimmmer72
stwig
thunderstorm
lerin
theflyingrat
ochweidnit
selaith
rugged