nixtress's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Watership down..it bothered me why?

Does anyone remember that kids-ish book, Watership Down? I remember being highly disturbed by it when I was younger..but I can't remember why. Maybe I'll get it and read it again.

This is brought to mind by grace of the fact that I'm watching King Groundhog roaming round my backyard.

Yearly, this battered, beatup groundie begins popping out when the weather warms. In fact, the very first time I ever wandered into the backyard, when considering the purchase of this house, he chased my silly ass across said backyard and over the deck. Territorial? Or I might have just been in the way of his escape route.

I like to think he was simply scouting out the invader. So this big ole guy is trundling round my yard as I type this, hither and yon, and every now and again he'll perk up his fat old head and still. I nicknamed him Gus (how dorky is that?) and he has a family that comes to visit now and again. He's caught himself this sleek young girlie groundhog and they had last year this tiny lil bundle of fluff. So cute.

I was concerned at first that this beastie might become aggressive toward my lil guys but that hasn't been the case. When they come out to play, he just dives for the shed, which we've willingly given up to him. He's tunneled himself an escape hatch into it, and we have an understanding--I don't go near it, and he doesn't scare the piss out of me. Sounds fair, hmm?

Gus was our first wildlife-like visitor, besides the birds. Since moving in here, we've been visited by numerous squirrels (who really like my attic in the winter), and field mice, and birdies, and rabbits and deer, yes-DEER (who eat my grape vines) and even a coon (who likes to come play in the boys pool in the summer). All of these lovely four-legged pals in spite of the fact we live in a fairly decent sized town.

And for the life of me, I can't remember why I didn't like that book...

Oh well. Have a wonderful day before humpday.

N.

9:02 a.m. - 2003-03-25

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

boxx9000
sixweasels
la-the-sage
singledadguy
nmnohr
Batten
myownjourney
nicim
swimmmer72
stwig
thunderstorm
lerin
theflyingrat
ochweidnit
selaith
rugged