nixtress's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

The almost thief

I'm sitting on my ass. And it's a miracle.

It's been one of those days where when you finally DO sit, you realize aside from driving, it's the first time today?

Got the boys to school, Gram and Grampa got their pills in them, picked up my check, then darted off to my OTHER grandmother's estate sale. Stupid fool that I am, I had agreed to meet one of my coworkers there so she wouldn't feel so..strange.

My mother was as disorganized as a person can be, and since it wasn't an auction, you'd think prices would be clearly marked, correct? PSHT wrong answer. And so like a dutiful daughter, I sat and answered questions and listened to the vultures bitch about lack of pricing and how EXPENSIVE everything is, what is she THINKING marking everything so HIGH?? Old biddies. Normally I'm very respectful of those older than I, but I found myself gritting my teeth to nothing today. Something about watching these griping magpies pick over my grandmother's belongings..and knowing that everything she'd ever done in her life, everything she ever WAS..all of that reduced to her things and how much money they could bring. On top of that I was furious FURIOUS!!!! at my mother. Who on God's green earth is going to want to buy a dead woman's mother's ring? Or her dogtags from when she was in the Army?And why the HELL would you put something like that out for purchase? Those are the sort of sentimental belongings you pass down thru a family, not hock to the highest buyer.I even found pictures of my grandmother from when she was young tucked into her jewelry box. And so I'm a bitchy girl, I guilted my mother into giving me the mother's ring and dogtags.And if she hadn't given them over, I'd have stolen them! And I'm not sorry. I'm not, damnit. They shouldn't have even been out there!! And what the hell is wrong with a family who doesn't place value on a symbol of a mother's devotion to her kids? Grr..

It was bad enough that I had to buy her old schoolbooks, that she'd written her name in childish hand inside of. And then I cried the entire way home.

The rest of my day has been spent running around, paying the sharks who provide me with phone service and a vehicle, and now I'm home and sitting on my ass.

I unloaded by my lil ole lonesome *SHE-RA!* two lovely bookcases from the back of my vehicle into my house..SINGLEHANDEDLY without injuring myself. I was so proud, especially since one is taller than I am. And the injury part..I'm a klutz so coming out unscathed is a miracle in it's own right.

And now I'm off to take a shower and get ready for work at 3pm. Have a safe and happy weekend all.

N. p.s. The weather is lovely. 77 degrees and sunshiney and breezy. A positive note to end on :)

12:40 p.m. - 2003-03-28

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

boxx9000
sixweasels
la-the-sage
singledadguy
nmnohr
Batten
myownjourney
nicim
swimmmer72
stwig
thunderstorm
lerin
theflyingrat
ochweidnit
selaith
rugged