nixtress's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Avoid ponchos and hairy earmuffs, k?

What is it about the thought of a bargain that'll bring out the interesting people?

The final day of my grandmother's estate sale, and against my better judgement, I went to sit with it. Thankfully, very few people showed up in the minute amount of time I spent there, and those that did were so strikingly bizarre that I didn't bother to notice what they were pawing.

The door flies open, freezing wind sweeps in, followed by a woman in a billowing poncho and a door slam. Upon further examination, this woman looks like a bag-ladies wet dream. She's got long witchy black hair, faux-furry black sparkly earmuffs on, this plastic poncho and jeans that are tighter than a woman of indeterminate older age should be wearing. She stalks through the tables, mumbling to herself as she picks things up, shakes them and then sets them back down. Eventually she takes off the big plastic RED poncho to reveal that she's wearing a magenta and yellow striped polo shirt underneath. Still talking in muted tones to one of her personalities (I swear she asked herself questions and answered them) she comes across a television stand, one with a lazy-susanish top that swivels. After joyfully playing with this for a bit, she attempts to open the doors on the bottom portion. Understand, these are the type that are magnetized, you push-they pop. Got it? She didn't. She'd push. They'd pop. She'd push again. Finally she stands in confusion and I decide to take pity on her. I lean over, push and pop, grasp the door and open it, at which point she decides this is a lovely piece of workmanship and wonders if the price can be lowered from 20 dollars to 2.

When that failed to transpire, she pulled her poncho back on, asked if we were serving "breffess" and then proceeded back out the door into the windy day.

Visitor number 2 was a man who brought with him a strong smell of body odor/onions/coneys. Rotund little guy, grizzled and gray and ..hairy. Wandering in and snapping his suspenders, he looks around and asks if we have anything he wants. While thinking this was a loaded comment, I replied it all depended on what he was wanting(as opposed to what he needed which was a Lysol/bleach bath and lots of air freshener applied to various parts of his body). He bought nothing and stayed all of 3 minutes. His odor, however, stayed long after he left. In fact, from what I understand, it stayed long after I left as well.

Miscellaneous other people came and went. And so did I.

My sons were with me and they were wonderfully well-behaved. *happy sighs here*

We had chili for supper. A good thing for a cold day, which it was.

My babysitting yesterday? Little Cousin Nick was late. Very late. I got to work 15 minutes late. And he may have to die. :P

Third shift tonite. I'm tired. And I suppose I should get my ass in the shower for an hour or twelve :) I love long showers.

Nite all.

N.

8:08 p.m. - 2003-03-29

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

boxx9000
sixweasels
la-the-sage
singledadguy
nmnohr
Batten
myownjourney
nicim
swimmmer72
stwig
thunderstorm
lerin
theflyingrat
ochweidnit
selaith
rugged