nixtress's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

a baby boy becomes a man

My baby brother, turning 19 tomorrow, is not a baby any longer. Understand that I've not seen this boy in almost 2 years. He became a not-so-happy member of the juvi penal system right about then, and it broke my heart the few times I went to see him. And then they shipped him many hours away.Currently he's living in a halfway house and Brother B. came home for a weekend visit, for his birthday.

This man, once known as my Bubby, is tall, taller than me..and bears a margin resemblance to the boy he once was. And as many times as I remind him that I used to change his diapers, it doesn't diminish the fact that he's maturing, in all sorts of ways, and in spite of his judgement errors, he's still the brother I raised.

I was floored. I literally had to sit down when I saw him. So handsome..he looks so much like his father (my stepfather) and he's mouthing all the right things right now. Please let him keep that mindset.

Tomorrow..tomorrow is B's 19th birthday, my cousin/sisterish's 25th bday and also the holiday known as Easter. My sons and I are going to my auntie's for a family get-together and then in the evening I have to drive to the Columbus airport and pickup someone. Humdrum stuff, eh?

I worked tonight and now I'm tired and I've got a lot going on up top. I think I'm going to wrap myself in my comforter, turn on mellow tunes and soothe myself to sleep.

Happy Easter, religiously and otherwise.

N.

11:35 p.m. - 2003-04-19

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

boxx9000
sixweasels
la-the-sage
singledadguy
nmnohr
Batten
myownjourney
nicim
swimmmer72
stwig
thunderstorm
lerin
theflyingrat
ochweidnit
selaith
rugged