nixtress's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

great and huge sigh

How to make it all gel..

Something happened in my teeny tiny town this weekend that greatly saddened me.

Picture yourself at the age of 19, responsible and talented and just beginning to start your life, a college student in your own home town, returning home (the home you still share with your parents) at a fairly decent hour with your significant other..almost home, not more than half a mile away. Then imagine feeling this pain so intense it's taking your breath away, still trying to steer the car you're driving, slumping over. Your s.o. has to pilot from the passenger seat, barely able to touch the pedals from their position, just enough to turn into your driveway and pull to a stop.

All of 19 yrs old..you're rushed to the emergency room, then via Lifeflight (medical helicopter) to a major hospital an hour away, to have surgery performed. A surgery that lasts an entire day, that removes a foot of your large intestine and one of your kidneys and repairs major damage to several more of your internal organs and your spine..all caused by two "boys" in their early 20's who decided to try out an AK 47 while driving behind you.

These "boys" have been arrested and are awaiting trial. This poor girl is in the ICU in Cleveland, in critical condition. Parents of other college students called the law enforcement agency where I work, wondering if the perpetrators had been caught, and I wasn't even able to reassure them that their children were safe, due to not being allowed to release any information.

This makes me very sad, not only because of the circumstances of the shooting, and because she didn't even know the people who shot her, but because I'm fast losing my faith in small town living. I chose to move to this town almost 6 yrs ago, where most of my family is located, to give my sons more of their family, and because it's always been my belief that it's better for them to live in a smaller place. Less crime, I thought, less violent activity, more wholesome. The last year or so has taught me that there's not an escape from those things, that it's everywhere. And that you don't have to ask for trouble, sometimes it just happens.

*sigh*

In other N. news, I got tremendous amounts of housework done this weekend and I'm quite content with that. I have the cleanest closets and pantry this side of Mars and I think you could search my house top to bottom and not find any dust. Trev has two teeth loose and I'm thinking he's going to lose his top two front teeth right about the same time..how cute that's going to be. We plowed our way through dressers, weeding out clothes too small, too ratty, too this or too that. Ry decided this weekend that green fruit loops are pickle-flavored. strange strange child.

I'm off to fold laundry. I learned this weekend that I've gotten quite used to puzzling out my thoughts and happenings in here, and I missed it.

Hope everyone had a wonderful weekend.

I'll be back later.

N.

9:01 a.m. - 2003-04-28

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

boxx9000
sixweasels
la-the-sage
singledadguy
nmnohr
Batten
myownjourney
nicim
swimmmer72
stwig
thunderstorm
lerin
theflyingrat
ochweidnit
selaith
rugged