nixtress's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

swimming of sorts

Thursday.

Tomorrow evening is Family Fun Night for the boys school at the high school.

36 hours from now I'll be surrounded by twelve tons of small beings, drowning in a cacophony of not so little voices. I'll be watching them dart here and there, and my arm will be the fishing line with which they tug me here and here and "here, Mommy!" By the end of three hours there, my head will be ready to enjoy a nice bottle of aspirin or three, and complete silence.

I can't think of a nicer way to spend a Friday night. You get much less intelligent conversation with drunks in a bar--not my scene anyway.

I have a lake that not only encompasses my front yard but is trickling it's way river-like through my basement as well. The sump pump has sent mentally telepathic requests for sunny weather. And while the farmers in the community are content with the weather patterns of late (water for the crops planted in the dryer early parts of April) I think my basement is ready for a reprieve.

Last night, trudging into that watery basement to toss yet ANOTHER load of laundry into the dryer, I came across (I swear to God) THE BIGGEST SPIDER EVER SEEN IN A HOUSE IN OHIO. This thing was HUGONDOUS. Literally this thing would have spanned my palm with no problems. HUGE. That thing has been living in my HOUSE!!! It wasn't a daddy long legs. I'm not really sure what it was except really fricking scary and HUGE. I'm a screamer. I've tried horribly to curb this habit, so as not to impart my fear of spiders to my children. They've gotten to the point where they laugh at me. And relocate the offenders. Or kill them if I beg.

And most other people laugh their asses off at me because I freak just a little. Depending on the proximity of the lil eight-legged creepazoids, I'll either knock them off me in a frenzy, squealing all the while, freeze in place or try my best to ignore them.. It all depends on where they are (on me, near me, close enough to get away from). I can't help it, I've tried. And I've gotten better. I can be within several feet of them, and not freak as long as I can see where they are. And I might act a little..preoccupied until they've found somewhere else they'd rather be.

It's just about camping time. The boys are ready and I think I am too. Fresh air and time out. Amen.

Ok..I've avoided doing dishes long enough.

N.

8:51 a.m. - 2003-05-08

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

boxx9000
sixweasels
la-the-sage
singledadguy
nmnohr
Batten
myownjourney
nicim
swimmmer72
stwig
thunderstorm
lerin
theflyingrat
ochweidnit
selaith
rugged