nixtress's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

ghosts and mummified remains

I have this habit of not giving up the ghost until the ghost is dead AGAIN. I try to stuff so many things into my days and end up short changing myself the whole way around. My theory is that after the boys are in bed (or after work) is MY time, for whatever purpose I choose to put to it. And I'll push myself till I can't keep my eyes open any longer, then crawl into bed. Too few hours later, I'm crawling back out still so tired it's not funny.I don't do it every day, but enough that it makes a difference. And again I ask myself "what were you thinking?". Today is 100% one of those days. I'm dragging butt.

Work this evening shouldn't be too bad, typical Friday night frolics--drunks and domestics and plenty of speeding tickets to waive, and bonds to collect.

I was reading in the newspaper an article about an auction held in Arizona recently where a gentleman bought a few boxes of linens and such, took them home, and discovered the mummified remains of three babies mixed in amongst his goodies. They're trying to locate the couple who had rented the storage facility where the auction was held, but they were believed to have moved out of state almost ten years ago.

TEN YEARS AGO. How could someone live with themselves that long knowing they'd done that? And while this may come across as judgemental, it's simple curiosity as to what kind of mind an individual would have to be able to commit acts like this, and then the strength of will to put it behind them and act completely normal.. and what sort of situation allowed this to occur. Baffles me but intrigues me too. I think I try to understand things too much maybe.

I'm going to sneak in a tiny, itty, bitty nap.

Happy Friday everyone. I hope everyone has a lovely, fun-filled weekend. Or at least some peace :)

N.

9:01 a.m. - 2003-05-16

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

boxx9000
sixweasels
la-the-sage
singledadguy
nmnohr
Batten
myownjourney
nicim
swimmmer72
stwig
thunderstorm
lerin
theflyingrat
ochweidnit
selaith
rugged