nixtress's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

joy toys and Underpants

Ok, what the hell is up with imood? It's throwing my template off and won't even let me login. For the time being, imood is gone. I don't like the way it all looks...lopsided.

Today dawned into a gorgeous sun-filled day, warm even! Ohio weather is a great thing--you can experience 3 different climates all in the space of a week here.

I'm better today, can't you tell? I think all I needed was to go to work. As much as I'll complain about it some days, there's something therapeutic about being there. And the kind of day I was having, it all just needed a swift kick or twelve. Humorous call at work last night---someone wanted to report that after splitting up, she had found that her ex had taken her "personal joy toys" when he had moved out. She wanted to know if she could file a theft report. Hard to keep a straight face with that one!

It's Friday, and payday and those-vultures-who-take-my-money-for-bills-get-paid day. It's also the first day of our Relay for Life. I've somehow talked my cousin (also team captain) out of trying to make me wear anything Spongebobish. Yellow is just not my style! Neither is anything remotely spongey. She was trying to convince me to hot glue sponges to a shirt---oh wouldn't THAT be flattering! Noooooo thanks. I'd look like a walking advertisement for cleaning products. Or contraception, maybe.

I called home to tell my sons goodnight last night, asked Ryan what he was doing, to which he replied "talking to you, what else?"...I love that sass. Funny, funny little men.

And today, going to my grandparents for meds-check, the boys each took a book with them. Those of you with children of an approximate age will know what I mean when I say that Captain Underpants causes them great laughter. They literally roll while reading these books. So they each took one to Gram's. They're sitting on the floor, reading pieces back and forth to each other, and my grandfather (to be 79 tomorrow) begins laughing his ass off! Captain Underpants consists of bathroom humor for kids. And old men, apparently. Seeing my grandfather laugh so much of course resulted in a giggling fit of my own. It was a big ole mess. My grams just looked at us like we were all bananas. The boys laughing because of the books, Grandpa laughing for the same reason, me with tears running down my face from laughing at them laughing together..I'm sure it made a lovely picture.

And these are the snapshots I file away in my head--my sons and their great-grandfather, sharing a moment.

I hope everyone has a wonderful weekend. Be safe and have fun.

N.

9:26 a.m. - 2003-06-06

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

boxx9000
sixweasels
la-the-sage
singledadguy
nmnohr
Batten
myownjourney
nicim
swimmmer72
stwig
thunderstorm
lerin
theflyingrat
ochweidnit
selaith
rugged