nixtress's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I'm glad.

It feels like Sunday. Hazy and feeling like rain but still a beautiful day.

I walked for an hour. Never thought there'd come a day when I enjoyed having blisters but it has. Really, it was the perfect morning---a little cool and overcast. Some of the groups had begun breaking down their tents and areas. I'm not sure if this makes sense, but I was surprised that there were as many people as there were, and also that there weren't more. For the amount of exposure this event had, I'm surprised there were as many people as there WERE, but for it being this KIND of event, I'm surprised there weren't more there by word of mouth.

Our group alone raised over $800.00 to be donated for cancer research. And while that's a drop in the bucket in comparison to costs for that sort of thing, I can't help but be glad that we contributed. One voice (or group) can make a difference when it's all added up. On a personal level, it did alot for my healing process to be able to be a part of this. And it also did alot to restore some of my faith in humanity and the strength of human spirit.

N.

11:25 a.m. - 2003-06-07

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

boxx9000
sixweasels
la-the-sage
singledadguy
nmnohr
Batten
myownjourney
nicim
swimmmer72
stwig
thunderstorm
lerin
theflyingrat
ochweidnit
selaith
rugged