nixtress's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Whammo

I'm not at work!!!! I'm at home, in my pj's still, listening to my sons giggle at Bugs Bunny. I'm a bad, bad girl.

HOWEVER!! There's a legitimate reason I called off. My son has pneumonia.

What started out as a low grade fever (99.2) sky rocketed into a worrysome one (103.6) that wasn't responding to Tylenol or Motrin, and so we trundled off to the ER (family doctor was full up). Normally, I ride out fevers a little but his went up so fiercely and so quick, I didn't want to mess with it. He presented with signs of a basic cold, no real complaints of chest pain or major congestion, just a fever and mild cough, headache and sore throat. The doc and I both figured he had strep. After taking a throat culture, he decided to have chest x-rays done as well just to be safe. And that's how they found the pneumonia. Doc had listened to his lungs and said they sounded clear...but that's also what he said chest x-rays were designed to find! So after 6 hrs, 2 sets of chest x-rays, 4 vials of blood being drawn, 2 I.V.'s (first one blew), and enough antibiotic to cure a small army, we came home with a prescription for the pink stuff three times a day, an appt with the family doc on Monday, and a follow-up x-ray appt in a week and a half. With one sick little boy, I'm needed at home. Pretty simple to understand. And while I'm not sure work WILL understand, they don't have much of an option. I'm not leaving my really sick kiddo with someone else when all he wants is me.

So my day ahead will be filled with lots of little boy time, cartoons and games, 7 up and bubble gum-smelling antibiotic. Yay!

N.

8:23 a.m. - 2003-06-08

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

boxx9000
sixweasels
la-the-sage
singledadguy
nmnohr
Batten
myownjourney
nicim
swimmmer72
stwig
thunderstorm
lerin
theflyingrat
ochweidnit
selaith
rugged