nixtress's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

silence like this should be sold over the counter

It's almost dark and it's that hazy time of evening when the shadows begin to blend with one another and my thoughts turn to comfort. I'm sitting in front of this computer, a purring bundle of fur rubbing her face on the underside of my tshirt-covered breast. Freya has been very insistent in her affection today. Numerous times I've stopped typing in order to allow her to climb onto the keyboard to give me Eskimo kisses. Silly, silly girl.

The boys FINALLY settled into slumber and I'm thankful for the quiet. My head ached a bit right before bedtime and that's now ebbing.

I thought it might be too early yet for lightning bugs but that's what I get for thinking--they're hovering near the tops of the trees on my back hill, intermittently flashing. Before long the boys will be requesting their "bug kits" to keep them for a short time. I got them little netted containers that allow them to keep the lightning bugs for small periods of time without damaging them or suffocating them (as always seemed to happen to my little brother's). I didn't really collect them as a kid, but was taught that childhood rite of passage by a brother who had orchestrated a way to divide the top half from the glowy bottom half and still maintain the glowy. Sadistic boy.

I always thought they looked best from a distance, magical even in the way that they could just seem to materialize out of nowhere. I was a romantic even as a child, I guess (mixed in with my realist side). Strange mix, I was.

Strange moods tonight. I'm tired, having had an active day. Candles are casting intricate little silhouettes on my walls and it's very peaceful. I'm ready to turn the fan to a lower setting and crawl between my sheets. Early Summer nights have their own allure. Cool cotton sliding over warm skin, soft fabrics and even softer flesh, comfort settling in.

Sweet dreams all.

N.

9:24 p.m. - 2003-06-18

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

boxx9000
sixweasels
la-the-sage
singledadguy
nmnohr
Batten
myownjourney
nicim
swimmmer72
stwig
thunderstorm
lerin
theflyingrat
ochweidnit
selaith
rugged