nixtress's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Blue man group and Pigtail days

Today is a pigtail day. And how, you ask, do I know what a pigtail day is? It's a day when you wake up feeling awake, and perky and happy to be alive. It's a day when you bounce out of bed with the energy of twelve small children driving you. It's a day when you accomplish much before noon even hits. It's a day like today.

Waking up in exactly the manner described above, I hopped out of bed and put my blonde locks into their pigtail positions, and went about my day.

The boys decided today was a "blue man group" hair day. Blue man group, you ask? Think Pentium commercials, or that Dave Matthews video with the guys all blue-faced...my sons took blue hair GLUE not gel, and slathered their white blonde heads up. Within ten minutes of doing so, the optometrist's office called to tell me the glasses we ordered last week were in. In going in to pick those up, I learned a valuable lesson: people think small children should not have blue hair. In fact, they will take every opportunity to stare at you like you've suddenly sprung an extra head and a few dozen arms, just because you've allowed this blue hair thing to happen to said children. I even got muttered at by an elderly lady, something along the lines of "child abuse". Quite funny, really.

After many comments about Smurf head and too much blueberry consumption, we got the glasses fitted and trundled on home. My son looks like an adorable Harry Potter (with much sturdier glasses! These things could withstand a hurricane!)

We then had to make an emergency trip to the hardware store as the gasket in the bottom of my sink decided to disintegrate and spill dishwater all over the underside of my sink cabinet. (this happened before, but on the OTHER side of the sink). Once again, we suffered the muttered comments of outraged biddies.

I'm really of the opinion that if the WORST thing my sons ever decide they want to do their bodies is put in blue goop that washes out with one shampooing, I'm one lucky mama. It's a form of expression, it's only hair, as already mentioned-it washes out, and it's minor. I'll compromise on hair and clothes and music. It's values and honesty and integrity and manners that I won't compromise on. Hair grows, clothes change and music does as well.

And if that's the worst that happens, God is blessing me.

Need to get my butt to Gram's. I'll be back sometime.

N.

11:11 a.m. - 2003-06-24

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

boxx9000
sixweasels
la-the-sage
singledadguy
nmnohr
Batten
myownjourney
nicim
swimmmer72
stwig
thunderstorm
lerin
theflyingrat
ochweidnit
selaith
rugged