nixtress's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Moody Blues and me

I've always loved the Moody Blues, from back when my mother used to play them on 8 tracks even. We saw them together with Chicago at an outdoor ampitheater called Blossom not far from us, many years ago. For a concert that came to us freely, it was really damn good. Someone my mother had known had intended to go and had for some reason or another backed out of it, and my mother had acquired the tickets free of charge. The tickets were pavilion seats and really close to the stage. And even though I was at a concert with my mother, and even though it wasn't music hyping with the times,and even though I was all about 14ish, I loved it. It began in the evening, as dusk was settling and the music had such a magic to it. I remember the scads of people, and watching them all, and the sickly-sweet smell of weed being passed around in the dark and the yeasty stink of beer on my mother's breath. And the pulses of lights and the thump of the drums in tandem with my own heartbeat. And when it was all over, the echo of my own voice in my ears, ears that felt like they were padded with wads of cotton, a throat so sore from inhaling fumes so strong and a slight headache as my contact buzz wore off.

I heard "Nights in White Satin" on the radio tonight and that reminded me...how much I used to love that song.

***

Breathe deep the gathering gloom,

Watch lights fade from every room.

Bedsitter people look back and lament,

Another day's useless energy spent.

Impassioned lovers wrestle as one,

Lonely man cries for love and has none.

New mother picks up and suckles her son,

Senior citizens wish they were young.

Cold hearted orb that rules the night,

Removes the colours from our sight.

Red is grey and yellow white,

But we decide which is right.

And which is an illusion???

***

N.

9:29 p.m. - 2003-06-25

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

boxx9000
sixweasels
la-the-sage
singledadguy
nmnohr
Batten
myownjourney
nicim
swimmmer72
stwig
thunderstorm
lerin
theflyingrat
ochweidnit
selaith
rugged