nixtress's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Simple Simon met a hippo and drove it to have an OPERATION.

Sitting here, listening to my sons playing that abominable childhood classic game involving hungry hippos, I've come to the realization that games and toys like this are created by people who will not have to listen to them on a regular basis and probably do NOT have children within a twelve mile radius of them.

Really. Think about it. This game in particular is the noisiest I've ever heard. And games like Operation..that infernal BUZZING. How about Simon? Anyone remember Simon? I'll bet my mother went insane listening to those repetitive beeps. Even the old hand-held football and baseball games had those high-pitched bleeps. And while I know deep down it's exactly these noises that make the games the most appealing to kids, as an adult I'm learning to hate them (the games, that is).

My room is blessedly free of mucky odors. The day is breezy and sunny and lovely. My sons spent 5 dollars each at a yard sale this morning that my friend was having and are contentedly driving me batty not only with these noisy games but also with the 50 tons of action figures and Pokemon cards they finagled and will undoubtedly leave out for me to step on in the very near future.

Life is good.

***

I forgot my friday five so I'll have to do them shortly after work tonight, before it turns to Saturday. I hope everyone has a tremendous weekend. I'm off to finish getting ready for work.

N.

2:11 p.m. - 2003-06-27

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

boxx9000
sixweasels
la-the-sage
singledadguy
nmnohr
Batten
myownjourney
nicim
swimmmer72
stwig
thunderstorm
lerin
theflyingrat
ochweidnit
selaith
rugged