nixtress's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

People People and blow me away with your .08

A person I'm enjoying an interesting sort of cyber rapport with has asked if it's common place for me to come home to men in my house. And while at one point in my life, many years ago, it WAS common place, as I had an open door policy with my friends, that's no longer the truth.

When I first moved to this town and had just moved into my little house, I allowed my cousin AmySpender to stay with me on a regular basis, and on occasion several of our friends as well. Eventually it got to the point where I'd leave for work and they'd remain. I'd come home from work and they'd have stayed all day.

And evenutally there came a time where I came home to a wrecked house and no food and people lazily everywhere. And I then lost all those friends and for a time lost AmyCousin because I told them all it had to stop and I couldn't live that way, that when I left, that meant everyone else left too, and that my space was exactly that---MY SPACE.

See, I'm altruistic beyond belief. All my life I've been that way, more concerned for others than for myself. More concerned for another's comfort or well-being, or happiness than for my own. And I've paid the price.

In recent years, I've gained some perspective on it, but it's still a major part of my personality. One I war with, because being a tad selfish can be a good thing.

And so, in answer to that question in a more in depth way, I'm not used to coming home to houseful's of people at all. And I'm glad.

***

Prior to Tuesday night at midnight, if you're stopped in the state of Ohio for suspicion of drunkenness, any breathalizer under .10 is considered not quite drunk. As of Tuesday at midnight, that limit changes to .08, just in time for the Fourth of July holiday.

***

This morning began with showers and gloom, which has put me in a remarkably cuddly and quiet mood. My sons have acquired new movies and are watching one. And since I try to limit the amount of time they spend glued to that box, I think I'm off to find something constructive for us to do.

Happy Monday.

N.

10:52 a. m. - 2003-06-30

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

boxx9000
sixweasels
la-the-sage
singledadguy
nmnohr
Batten
myownjourney
nicim
swimmmer72
stwig
thunderstorm
lerin
theflyingrat
ochweidnit
selaith
rugged