nixtress's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

My 4th of July (early) thoughts

I should be in bed. I should be trying like mad to go to sleep. I have to be up at the ass crack of dawn tomorrow, to ready myself for work at 7am. I should be counting sheep.

But it's too darn hot and I'm not tired. Period. Bottom line. Putting myself to bed at this point would be a waste of time and cool sheet space. And plain dumb.

I work tomorrow with AustinEgoKing. God help me. Please give me the patience and fortitude to survive the bad breath, the jackass attitude, and the rude running commentary that pours out of his mouth at will. I think I'll survive. I'm just not sure about HIM.

Tomorrow being the 4th of July, after I escape from work, I'm taking the boys to a cookout and then off to watch fireworks. We love fireworks. Religiously going every year, we're the people you see, all leaned into each other on a blanket on the grass, reclining like human lawn chairs, and ooohing and aaahing at the really good ones. Occasionally one of us will pop off with "it looks like a spider!" or "I like the popcorn ones". We sit and wait it out completely, past the time when everyone else is bailing to avoid traffic while stealing glances behind them to watch the finale. Traffic can wait. Moments like these can't.

I also want my sons to value their freedoms, and to know that, commercialized though this holiday is, it has a real meaning behind it. Therefore we'll be spending a bit of time with my grandfather, who was in the service. They have a good concept of the fact that life wasn't always the way it is now and that there have been times people have died so that we can live as we do, and sometimes for reasons we won't always understand.

Good kids I've got.

All in all, it'll be a full day and I'm sure I'll be tuckered by the time we wander home. Doubtful I'll be updating tomorrow.

Be careful out and about tomorrow. Enjoy and be safe.

N.

10:13 p.m. - 2003-07-03

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

boxx9000
sixweasels
la-the-sage
singledadguy
nmnohr
Batten
myownjourney
nicim
swimmmer72
stwig
thunderstorm
lerin
theflyingrat
ochweidnit
selaith
rugged