nixtress's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Cleveland Harborfest and thunderstorms

Only in Ohio can you find brightly shining sun with pouring rain all at the same time.

***

I'm feeling not only refreshed this morning but also as if someone took a squeegee (spelling?) and cleared all the residual ick from that report yesterday off my brain.

That's a really good thing.

My cats are stoned. I bought them catnip toys (one shaped like a moose, the other a mouse) and while Wraith (black cat) has found she likes to roll all over them, Freya (tiger cat) likes to maw it instead. Wraith then will curl up and snooze, usually on her back. Freya gets fruity. She'll either run up and down the hallway between the bedrooms or she'll want to be basically in my lap getting twelve tons of affection.

Too funny.

It's preparing to storm in a big way. The wind has picked up and it's become overcast and rumbles of thunder are beginning. It never fails to amaze me how the weather has such an effect on me. Storms make me horny or peaceful, alternately. Sunshine makes me sleepy and happy and giddy and lethargic, all intermixed. I'm a strange bird, I know.

Next weekend, Cleveland is hosting Harborfest. Basically, it's 17 or so big ships that represent maritime history from the Revolutionary War, the War of 1812, Great Lakes trading schooners, 17th Century Boston schooners, and Baltimore Clippers. I think the boys will get a kick out of it. We'll be able to board the ships and tour them, as well as enjoying the festival (historical exhibitions, displays and even strolling musicians). At the very least, I'll get neat pictures of my sons with some very cool boats!

It's pouring outside now, and the cracks of thunder have made the boys gravitate to my room. They aren't scared by storms as much as startled by the loud thunder.So I think it's time to find a book to read to them.

Have a great Monday!

N.

9:21 a.m. - 2003-07-07

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

boxx9000
sixweasels
la-the-sage
singledadguy
nmnohr
Batten
myownjourney
nicim
swimmmer72
stwig
thunderstorm
lerin
theflyingrat
ochweidnit
selaith
rugged