nixtress's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Come sail away with me

I tried clicking my heels together and muttering that catch phrase of Dorothy's tonight..problem being, I was AT home and that's where the difficulties were.

Severe thunderstorms have rocked my area (which to me isn't a BAD thing) and as a result we've had several tornado warnings and watches and even a lake in my neighbor's yard. The boys and I hung out in the basement for an intolerable amount of time(intolerable because there are spiders down there and it's all leaky and therefore half the rain was trickling across the floor) and then came upstairs to see that the storm sewers had overflowed and were filling up the neighbor-with-the-yapping-dog's yard. Funny thing: for whatever reason, we had a bubbling fountain in our yard. It would appear that the hole the chipmunk uses also serves as a waterway when 2 inches of rain falls in less than 45 minutes.

Maybe it's because I've lived here for most of my life but having been through a tornado 2 years ago, you'd think I'd have a healthy fear of storms---that is so not the case. I love them. And while everyone else panics and hides, I watch them with admiration. It's pretty nifty to see that kind of power.

***

My sons are watching Treasure Planet in the living room and every now and again Ry just peals with laughter. And it makes me laugh. His laugh is contagious. I don't know many people who've ever heard him giggle and not fallen victim to it. Trev's dimples have the same effect on people--they can't help but smile with him. He's got one of those grins that's pure sunshine. I watched for awhile with them, but got kicked off the couch so they could stretch out so I retired to Dland to catch up.

Ryan got a horrendous sunburn yesterday---they played in the pool for quite some time, and I used a different brand of sunblock than I normally do. Poor boy went to bed with pink shoulders and woke up with red ones with tiny blisters!!! It's almost like the sunblock just didn't work. We tripped off to the pediatrician who gave me a cream for him and lots of advice as to watching for infection, etc. Needless to say, we tossed that pseudo-sunblock and have stocked up on our norm. My poor sore little guy.

Seeing as how the movie's over and it's still raining, I think it's time to curl up with bedtime stories.

Have a lovely evening :)

N.

8:31 p.m. - 2003-07-08

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

boxx9000
sixweasels
la-the-sage
singledadguy
nmnohr
Batten
myownjourney
nicim
swimmmer72
stwig
thunderstorm
lerin
theflyingrat
ochweidnit
selaith
rugged