nixtress's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Together they would travel, on a boat with billowed sail

Sunburns are the devil.

Today was chaotic and twelve tons of fun.

The boys and I ventured off to Cleveland for the Harborfest. The drive up was fine, although I was venturing into Cleveland via a completely different way than I was familiar with.

And there were literally hundreds of people swarming the streets and basic Port area. I was amazed by the volume.

We found parking in a tiered garage

within walking distance and hiked off.

Beautiful boats, with tall sails and masts and shining decks greeted us at the entrance. We wandered to and fro, browsing the vendors and people watching. I answered a gazillion questions about ships in general and uses for various things on deck.

It was difficult to see the actual boat portions of them due to the amount of people milling around but the sails were awe-inspiring. I can't imagine having to climb those things EVER.

There were strolling musicians, and people dressed in period costumes and tours of all the various boats. I opted to take the boys through a big freighter called the William G. Mather as opposed to one of the sailboats. The Mather had a museum inside it, was huge and took much longer to work through than one of the others might have. It was amazing. We got to see the internal workings and the areas where crewmembers lived, as well as touring the upper decks and engine room.

It was pretty neat. It was all set up right next to the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame and the Great Lakes Science Center, so there was quite alot of room to roam.

Trev ended up coming home with a ship in a bottle and Ryan picked out (of all things!) a sand stuffed lizard. What a goof.

By the time we left, I was tired and the boys were as well. They'd hit the "dragging feet and sighing" stage.

All told, we'd accumulated 8 rolls of film, which we got developed tonight and I sat after the boys had gone to bed and not only made notations on the backs of them but settled them into their respective albums.

I have a theory and it's basically that when I'm dead and gone, these pictures will hold the boys memories for them, not only in picture but in my handwriting on the back, with my own thoughts of the day. Little pieces of me to last for them.

My scalp is sunburned, my arms are sunburned, the back of my neck is sunburned, and I'm tired and sore. It's pleasantly quiet and peaceful, not even a television on to break the silence.

And on that note, I think it's time to find comfort in my bed.

G'nite all.

N.

11:59 p.m. - 2003-07-12

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

boxx9000
sixweasels
la-the-sage
singledadguy
nmnohr
Batten
myownjourney
nicim
swimmmer72
stwig
thunderstorm
lerin
theflyingrat
ochweidnit
selaith
rugged