nixtress's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

It's raining in many ways today.

I'm so tired this morning. I shut off the alarm several times, not wanting to give up the comfort of my bed. I could hear the boys playing in the family room, watching cartoons and having an animated debate as to who was the best--Batman or Superman. It was raining, with small bouts of thunder every now and again and gusts of cold air that filtered through my window. I could smell the dampness and that earthy smell that comes with a saturating rain. The only thing missing was the feel of the drops of rain hitting my skin.

Bleary-eyed, I stumbled 'round the house, trying to figure out which end was up and when I'd gotten my bearings a bit, we headed off to (car parts place) to get a refund on my turn signal switch that didn't need replaced afterall. After taking care of that bit of business, we went to Gram's where I was informed that my hair "looks lovely that way" (picture a side part with that bedhead look) and that I should wear it that way more often. No problem. Every woman should be told she looks great when she looks awful. It's definitely a kicker.

And now we're home, having eaten a breakfast of *gasp* Pop tarts and settled into Animal Planet. I should say my sons have settled into Animal Planet. My brain cells still haven't perked up enough for that. It's overcast and dark and rain-soaked and I'm quite content taking my time perking up.

It's starting to pour and I think it's time to close this up.

N.

***In the process of writing this, my friend and coworker Char called. Her father passed away this morning and she was calling me to let me know not only that but that she wouldn't be working this week at all. I feel incredibly sad for her loss. Her family is wonderfully close knit and this is a terrible day for them all.

9:31 a.m. - 2003-07-21

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

boxx9000
sixweasels
la-the-sage
singledadguy
nmnohr
Batten
myownjourney
nicim
swimmmer72
stwig
thunderstorm
lerin
theflyingrat
ochweidnit
selaith
rugged