nixtress's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Hey! Help me figure this out!

Miscellaneous mumbo jumbo:

I realized, in looking at my "buddy list" this morning, that I've covered just about every letter of the alphabet in terms of first letters of names.

Thanks to a gentle reminder from ThunderGOD! I remembered how to do links the other evening. Nice little nudge to my memory :)

The news this morning was full of Jessica Lynch's homecoming and I can't help but wonder if she wouldn't just be happier coming home and being left alone. Isn't that what everyone who's been overseas dealing with that sort of thing wants? To just come home, to their own space, to the familiarity of what they've always known and been around and to be left alone to decompress in it all? My own opinion here, but I certainly wouldn't want a big hoopla. Maybe it's just me. Maybe she'll love the attention.

I work tonight with AnalRetentive Patty. Joy joy. Won't this be a treat. CoworkerChar's father's obit was in the paper this morning. One of the bitchy third shift girls made the comment last night that they were going to throw a fit if Char got more than three days leave for her father's death, and I wanted to smack her. It's her FATHER. Losing your parent is just different from losing anyone else in your life.

And who can begrudge someone time to deal with something like that? Jeesh.

Having dealt primarily only with my own family's funerals, I'm left with questions:

1) Is it appropriate for me to attend the funeral as well as calling hours,being a friend of the family? Or should I go to calling hours and call it covered?

2) Instead of live flowers, which will die, is there anything else appropriate to send to let the family know I'm thinking about them and sorry for their loss?

3) I don't want to intrude on them at such a sad moment, but I feel like I should be doing something for them..what does one DO? Cook something? Just hang out? No clue.

Anyone with any input or suggestions please feel free to leave them in my notes or guestbook. The calling hours are tomorrow from 2-4 and 7-9pm. And the funeral is on Thursday morning.

I need to get moving on things here at home. Have a good day, one and all.

N.

9:26 a.m. - 2003-07-22

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

boxx9000
sixweasels
la-the-sage
singledadguy
nmnohr
Batten
myownjourney
nicim
swimmmer72
stwig
thunderstorm
lerin
theflyingrat
ochweidnit
selaith
rugged