nixtress's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

A-camping we will go

The boys and I are just in from washing away the heat of the day in a nice torrential downpour.

Work, and heat, and stress melted away and for the boys the joys of puddle stomping can cure all ills.

It's still pouring and I've changed from my wet clothes but still have the nice chill. Once again I'm incredibly glad I'm not a high maintenance girlie.

We were invited to go canoe camping next weekend, by the newspaper guy (I'll call him Ivan)at work. He doesn't deliver them, he writes articles for them. I hesitate to call him a journalist for the simple fact that's not what he calls himself. He's a nice guy, old enough to be my father and this was strictly a way of showing me an enhanced way to camp. Ivan does the police logs, all the details of arrests, etc. that get published in our small town paper, and he also writes articles.

We're going camping this next weekend. It's what Ryan wants to do for his birthday. I have to work third shift Friday night, so it'll be a little shifted over but still fun anyway. And it's fairly primitive camping--tent, sleeping bags, fire pit. There's a spring that runs nearby for fresh water and that's about it. The bathroom is the non-flushable type. No showers till you get home kinda thing. Not for everyone but that's why we don't normally stay longer than a couple days. I DO like my showers. It's interesting, though, the things I've learned to do for the sake of my boys. They need exposure to the things that normal boys enjoy and I'm just along for the ride.

Mkay, time for diary catchup and then off to finish making supper.

N.

5:24 p.m. - 2003-07-27

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

boxx9000
sixweasels
la-the-sage
singledadguy
nmnohr
Batten
myownjourney
nicim
swimmmer72
stwig
thunderstorm
lerin
theflyingrat
ochweidnit
selaith
rugged