nixtress's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Grumpy old me

I'm very irritable right now.

Camping has been delayed due to rain. Instead of curling up and settling in for the night with my book or children, I'm wasting an hour or so until it's time to go to work. And not even an entire 8 hr shift. I'm only scheduled to work till 5 am. That's good and bad all wrapped up. Good because I'll get to come home and have some sleep before the boys get up, bad because my check likes full shifts and because it seems such a waste of time to only go in for short shifts.

I work with SqueakyvoicedandnewlymarriedPaula. That's all fine, as long as I don't have to hear about BobbytheGreat the entire night. We shall see.

I'm even semi bitchy, with a slight edge. See, I have this way of dealing with things. I'm all about mind over matter. If I say it's one way, and think it's one way, I can convince myself that it truly is THAT way. Just sometimes I have to wrestle with it a bit first.

Take this weekend. I've already, in the dark recesses of my brain, decided that this weekend is blown and all washed up. However, I'm telling myself it'll be fine and we'll figure out something else. And if I keep telling myself that, it's going to have to be fine. We're supposed to be celebrating Ry's bday this weekend. The problem being that everything I've planned to now has gone awry. And it's IRRITATING, damnit.

And now I'm scrambling, trying to come up with Plan B, which isn't working because I'm coming up with a complete blank! Everyone else we know and love is going out of town for the weekend, coming home Sunday night. Cousin's going to the islands up in Lake Erie with her hubby and his boss/boss' wife, aunties each have separate situations they're rambling off to, etc.

Have you ever heard a human being growl? That's me right about now. And this entry is only making things worse.

I'm pouting. And I'm allowed.

Maybe I should just throw in the towel and see what occurs to me tomorrow.

Cake-making should be an adventure all in itself.

Bah humbug. Off to ready for work.

Safe weekend wishes.

N.

***

As an afterthought, I was channel surfing this afternoon and came across the Weetabix Womens' such and such. I was floored (probably in the dumb blonde-ish way I have) to know that Weetabix is an actual term used out and about beyond Dland. Am I a goose or what?

9:23 p.m. - 2003-08-01

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

boxx9000
sixweasels
la-the-sage
singledadguy
nmnohr
Batten
myownjourney
nicim
swimmmer72
stwig
thunderstorm
lerin
theflyingrat
ochweidnit
selaith
rugged