nixtress's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Nixtress, Nyx and nixies

Boredom set in and on a whim, I went to Google and typed in versions of my own name.

And while I learned there are lots of sex-starved women with the name N****, I also learned more about the Goddess Nyx and her nixies.

Ready?

According to this site, Nyx aka Night was the daughter of Chaos, was sister to some of the oldest deities in Greek mythology (Gaia, Erebus, etc.) and mother to Death, Retribution, Strife, and The Fates, among others.

Nixies, according to The Woman's Encyclopedia of Myths and Secrets by Barbara Walker,"were abyssal angels who kept the souls of the dead in an underwater fairyland in 'pots turned upside down,' after the manner of all Teutonic death-spirits." I've also found various sites that claim that nixies are water sprites/fairies, some described as dark and dismal and known for holding men under and gleefully watching them drown.

Off and on, due to the nature of my real name, I've been called Nyx and Nixie throughout my life. And strangely, I very much identify with everything waterish and can claim my own dark side. I don't know if I'm quite ready to drown men and rejoice in it, however!

Just randomness and boredom setting in. I should haul meself off to bed. I kicked ass in the cleaning mode today and while my house is spotless (and I do mean spotless!) I'm tuckered.

Sweet dreams all.

N.

10:53 p.m. - 2003-08-05

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

boxx9000
sixweasels
la-the-sage
singledadguy
nmnohr
Batten
myownjourney
nicim
swimmmer72
stwig
thunderstorm
lerin
theflyingrat
ochweidnit
selaith
rugged