nixtress's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Dreams of Pa., Zambonis and my son the Big Bopper

This morning reminded me of when I was younger and we lived in Pennsylvania. There always seemed to be mists and fog and the mornings, regardless of daytime temps, always began on the cool side. Most of the places we lived up there were backwoods and out of the way, lots of trees around and not alot of traffic. I remember the smell of pines and the odor of crude oil in a tank that my stepfather drained the water off of. It wasn't like Ohio, where you can hear so many things at once; in the places we lived up there, you could listen for forever and hear nothing more than the creak of trees and the rustling of small creatures foraging and sometimes the deer making their way through the underbrush. And while here you can almost taste the grit in the air when farmers are plowing, up there it was all so clean and clear. The shade in the forests was almost cold and the creeks and streams I played in had a bite to them. Coming out after swimming, my skin was blue-tinged and my teeth would chatter like the wind-up ones you buy in the joke stores. This morning dawned just like that, crisp and clean and quiet.

***

My sons have taken to swinging the blow up punching thing my mother bought for Ry's bday at each other like some sort of brotherly battering ram. And while air and plastic won't necessarily harm them, the resulting loss of balance could cause them harm if they fall into something. However, my efforts to discourage this aren't working all that well. I may have to take the bop bag hostage. And didn't they used to make them with sand in the bottom? This one I had to use water to weight down and that makes me just a tad uncomfortable. They've not yet decided to drain it but I know it will occur to them at some point.

Tonight begins my four day streak of second shifts. And I just don't feel like it. I'm lethargic and tired today, having slept with dreams weirder than normal. All about dating guys with Zambonis and people dressed as Furries driving tow trucks. Very strange indeed.

Ah well, off to shower and begin my work prep. Have a lovely day/afternoon/evening!

N.

10:32 a.m. - 2003-08-07

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

boxx9000
sixweasels
la-the-sage
singledadguy
nmnohr
Batten
myownjourney
nicim
swimmmer72
stwig
thunderstorm
lerin
theflyingrat
ochweidnit
selaith
rugged