nixtress's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

The Mosquito Coast... of Ohio

Monster mosquitoes tried to steal me in my sleep. And when they couldn't accomplish their task, they settled for trying to suck all the blood out of my body. Really..I think one began the process and when he'd had a taste of my blue blood, called in all his pals and family for a nice middle of the night snack.

I woke up at 3:30am itching like a madwoman. In flipping on the bathroom light to see what was driving me crazy,I was overjoyed to see uber-welts not only on my hands and wrists but even the tip of one of my fingers! They traveled up my arm in small increments, mainly on my right arm. Basically, anything hanging out above the blankets was fair game, according to 'Squito rules.

After I was finally able to get back to sleep, it seemed like the alarm rang about five minutes later. And when I once again crawled out of bed and looked at my poor wrist, it was swollen up and red. Damn bloodsuckers.

It's begun monsooning here again. We haven't had any REAL summertime weather here yet and it's almost fall. Rather amusing.

It's almost time to begin the Halloween discussions. I'm a Halloween nut. The whole over-commercialized thing. I decorate my house something fierce, pass out REAL candy (chocolate) and have been known to dress myself up as well as the boys. We have had some pretty cool costume ideas in the past. I'm not one to buy a Wal-marty costume. I make 'em. Ryan has been,among other things, a pirate, a cowboy, a really convincing spirit, and when he was realllllllly tiny, he was a dalmatian puppy. Trev has gone as a baseball player, Dracula, a bat (with huge wings even!), and when HE was small, a pumpkin. I have fun with it. What can I say?

I wish, sometimes, I had a girl. I imagine it must be fun to dress them up as cheerleaders and princesses and fairies. Maybe I'll borrow someone's daughter..my cousin's maybe.

I'm off to tuck in my sons. I'll be back later.

N.

7:25 p.m. - 2003-08-16

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

boxx9000
sixweasels
la-the-sage
singledadguy
nmnohr
Batten
myownjourney
nicim
swimmmer72
stwig
thunderstorm
lerin
theflyingrat
ochweidnit
selaith
rugged