nixtress's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Kickin' some schooltime ass.

I survived Meet the Teacher night. And not only did I survive it, I kicked it's ass.

The boys classrooms are in the part of the building withOUT air conditioning and it was hot as Hades in there. Add to that many small children and other adults braving Meet the Teacher night. Not only did each of my sons personally greet their prospective teacher, they also found their seats, put away their supplies and kanoodled with the other kids they knew. I filled out a few necessary papers at the scene and hightailed it for cooler waters. We stopped into the secretary's office to chitter a bit and said hello to another teacher I recognized. After immersing myself in our vehicle's air conditioning, we drove home and began the Night Before rituals. Both boys had already had dinner so we set up for showers, both boys have clothing laid out for tomorrow (thereby avoiding the early morning whine and confusion), lunches are packed with exact opposite choices for food, backpacks are at the ready. And while I type this and wander 'round online, I'm filling out the packets of papers the teachers sent home. That's what you call checkmate on the busy.

Have you ever just been happy to be in the same room with someone? Happy in the silence, not needing to have a conversation, not needing especially to even touch, just sharing the same space is enough?

Can you remember the last time you felt content inside the four walls of your home, with nothing pressing or needling you, just being there was a good thing?

Just random thoughts for the night.

I'll be on and off.

N.

8:13 p.m. - 2003-08-25

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

boxx9000
sixweasels
la-the-sage
singledadguy
nmnohr
Batten
myownjourney
nicim
swimmmer72
stwig
thunderstorm
lerin
theflyingrat
ochweidnit
selaith
rugged