nixtress's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Fish smackeroos!!!

I would like to take a huge, cold, wet fish and slap my aunts upside the head with it. Just like in those old cartoons. Remember?

The morning trip to Gram's today found my Grandmother in her wheelchair, without her housecoat and only in her nightgown, no teeth in and severely disoriented. The reason for this? The new nurse in Gram's doctors office called with the results of her last blood draw and instructed my Grandmother (currrently suffering from Alzheimer's) that her bloodwork indicated she needed to start doubling up on her blood thinner. Now, we have a standing note in my Gram's file that any changes need to be reported to one of my aunts as my Grams doesn't remember much from one minute to the next. So last night, my Grandmother couldn't remember exactly which pill she was supposed to double up on and promptly took a double dose of her typical night time meds. Understand that there are 5 different medications in there, pain pills included. She woke up this morning when I buzzed to be let in, after having gone to bed at like 6 p.m. (according to the guy who walks the dog). I arrived there at almost 8:30 a.m. And while I put some blame on the nurse in the doc's office, I put more on my aunts because I've been trying to tell them we need to put the meds completely away from my Gram. She can't remember if she's taken them half the time, can't even remember what DAY it is half the time. The disease has progressed to the point that her meds need to be strictly monitored and stored away. My Grandfather isn't a help at all in that respect, and my aunts keep dodging the issue by saying they don't want to step on Gram's toes. How are they going to feel when she o.d.'s and can't feel anything, let alone them "stepping on her toes"?!

So, yes, anyone with a frozen fish I can borrow, please sign my guestbook. I promise to return it in fair condition.

The boys first day of school went well. Both came home very happy with the experience, happy to be home as well. The television in the family room did not get turned on (score one for Mom!) and we spent a pleasant evening talking and playing with Legos until bath and bedtime. Getting them to settle down once they were IN bed was another story.

It poured like mad here last night, with thunder that woke me from a dead sleep 4 different times and lightning that lit the sky in beautiful ways. It was a nice thing to sleep to.

I have a few calls to make so consider this my morning update and I'll be back tonight.

N.

11:37 a.m. - 2003-08-27

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

boxx9000
sixweasels
la-the-sage
singledadguy
nmnohr
Batten
myownjourney
nicim
swimmmer72
stwig
thunderstorm
lerin
theflyingrat
ochweidnit
selaith
rugged