nixtress's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

bday wishes and my Trev home sick from school

Everyone go and wish Stwig a happy birthday. He thinks he's old when he's not.

The school called and Trev came home sick. He vomited on the playground, primarily (I think) because his hayfever is acting up, compiling much snot on top of the Benadryl I gave him after breakfast. Not a good combo. He's curled up on the couch, alternately catnapping and watching cartoonies.

In talking to him on the way home, I was reminded of the humiliations of grade school. And I remember how horrible it was to vomit in school. Beyond the illness factor, there was the horror of doing anything remotely like that in front of classmates. Undoubtedly, by the time I recovered and came back to school, someone somewhere would have come up with some embellishment or the story would have made the rounds and everyone knew.

My poor Trev. He did it on the playground, not just with his classmates, so now there are kids from other GRADES who'll be talking about it.

I think I feel his pain for him sometimes.

It's a calm, slightly overcast day here in Ohio. All I can hear from the outside is the chirping of birds and the buzzing of the cicadas, and the occasional hum of a lawn mower in the distance. It's so quiet...such a lull. And just what my scrambled-egg-for-brains head needs.

I was supposed to go see my brother this afternoon, but seeing as Trev's home, I think it'll have to be tonight. My cousin Joanne agreed to come over and sit for about an hourish so that I could make it over. And it works out anyway as my younger brother B. wants to see K. as well, and wanted to go during the day since he has to work tonight.

It's Monday. Have a good one.

N.

12:01 p.m. - 2003-09-08

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

boxx9000
sixweasels
la-the-sage
singledadguy
nmnohr
Batten
myownjourney
nicim
swimmmer72
stwig
thunderstorm
lerin
theflyingrat
ochweidnit
selaith
rugged