nixtress's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

slivers of me, tonight.

I'm not sure how the tone of this entry will go. I've got lots flowing in my head right now, so there are many directions to go in.

Work today--basic synopsis? I worked almost 12 hours because CindyWho'sAPainInMyAss went on a squad run with her second job and ended up coming in reallllllly late. S'ok though. We only had just a COUPLE words. And my stuporvisor is aware of the situation as I called her at home. Ha! Mess with me when I'm sick, darn it.There's no reason I should have had to stay there feeling as cruddy as I did. I only went in (and stuporvisor is aware of this as well) because there wasn't anyone to cover for me. Sharing germs is not my idea of a good time.

It's storming now, rumbly sounds of thunder mixed with that gentle tempoed rain that comes towards the end of summer. Swishing of a car down the street around the corner. I'm feeling a bit better. Spent the majority of the weekend medicated to the gills, slightly stony-feeling but functioning. I'm freshly out of the shower and feeling pretty clearheaded. It's a nice feeling, almost semi-normal. Something about being cool and clean and soft again that's incredibly..nice. And I smell like soap and Beautiful (my perfume).

The boys brought home fundraiser kits. And it reminded me of doing the same when I was a kid, most memorably while living in Pennsylvania. We lived out in the boonies, on a road where the nearest neighbor was a short bike ride away. I trundled up and down that road on my bike, bothering my neighbors into buying wrapping paper and chocolate turtles from me. One lady in particular was funny as all get out. Walking into her house, I could tell she didn't get alot of company because everything, EVERYTHING was crocheted, in the most ghastly colors. She had cats everywhere and her home smelled like moth balls and Avon. She sat down gingerly at her kitchen table, and talked long and hard about everything in her life, all the while slowwwwwly writing out a check. And at some point, the conversation steered towards her hemorrhoids. She spoke in hushed tones about these things, making occasional motions towards her bottom like I should KNOW what these things were. I had some twisted idea that they were living things that were feeding on her ass! I skedaddled out of there fairly quickly then, peddling home to ask my mother what, exactly, a hemorrhoid WAS. My brother laughed and said I should know since I was one. And my mother just said it was a condition that happened to people causing them to have sore bottoms. I don't remember actually taking her items back to her. I'm thinking my mother did it for me, since I had decided to avoid further butt discussions. And that's what came to my mind when my sons brought these packets home.

I trimmed the boys hair tonight and Ry kept crinkling his nose up as the tiny hairs fell there. Trev was much more stoic, sitting there so still, afraid I'd butcher his hair probably! They're sooooo blond and I'm wondering how they've avoided getting my sprinklin' of freckles on the bridge of their noses.

Finished one of my books and I need to finish the other. I've got a stack that's calling my name....

G'night all. Sleep the sleep of innocents.

N.

9:15 p.m. - 2003-09-14

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

boxx9000
sixweasels
la-the-sage
singledadguy
nmnohr
Batten
myownjourney
nicim
swimmmer72
stwig
thunderstorm
lerin
theflyingrat
ochweidnit
selaith
rugged