nixtress's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

coyotes named Buck and baby birds

Martha Stewart is background noise, babbling on about how exciting compost is. I've got a tickle in my throat that won't go away and having finished putting my laundry in the dryer, I'm soon to be drinking my cough syrup and going to bed. The cough syrup and recent conversations will probably have me dreaming of men who run with coyotes, kept as pets and called Buck. Add to that periodic images of beast-like sex and gag orders..yep. Strange dreams ahead for me!

Four nice people have filled out my very first survey ever which makes me a very happy camper. It's like me, a little silly and quirky.

My sons did something today that made me very sad and a tad angry. After repeated admonishments this weekend to leave it alone, they knocked down a small birdnest from a tree. And in this tiny birdnest were two even tinier birds, barely a few days old. Their eyes weren't even opened yet. And they were covered in this downy fluff. I turned a baggie inside out over my hand and tucked them back in the nest, then tucked that back into the tree. Unfortunately, Mamabird has not been back, to my knowledge. And it makes me very sad because there's no way I can take care of these babies the way they'd need me to for them to live. Basically my sons killed them. Trevor understood and was very sorry. Ryan, on the other hand, didn't seem to care overly. I've had quite the summer with him, trying to help him learn some empathy. I had thought I'd succeeded, to a degree. I may have been wrong.

Poor baby birds.

I'm off to bed. Sweet dreams, Dland.

N.

9:35 p.m. - 2003-09-15

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

boxx9000
sixweasels
la-the-sage
singledadguy
nmnohr
Batten
myownjourney
nicim
swimmmer72
stwig
thunderstorm
lerin
theflyingrat
ochweidnit
selaith
rugged