nixtress's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I'm a wasted rock ranger, I live the life of danger...

It's Friday! Which in my household is YAY IT'S SLEEPOVER DAY as well as PayTheVulturesDay. The boys woke up at the crack of dawn, oh so overjoyed to be sleeping over at the school tonight. I've got the lovely chore of washing sleeping bags and packing everything all up. I also need to hunt up some flashlights with batteries that actually work! and get them all to the school before 2pm.

You should all be glad you don't live next door to me. Otherwise you'd have been calling the cops on me last night. I opened the door, was digging the keys out of the lock when Wraith decided to make a break for freedom. I knew it was coming, she's been sniffing the crack of the door for days. And out she went. You could almost here that euphoric shout of joy when she made it out. I dropped my armful of stuff just inside the door, snatched the cat treats off the mantle and went hunting. Understand firstly that it was pretty damn dark out there and factor into that as well that Wraith is a pitch black kitty. And I learned she's also really sneaky! So picture, if you will, me in my white capri's, standing out like a neon sign, trying to sneak up on my cat. WRONG. I chased her back and forth through the poison ivy-choked bushes, alternately pleading, ordering, cussing and trying to entice her with kitty treats. I could almost here her little kitty thoughts, laughing at my stupidity. The neighbors probably thought I was batty, being almost 11:30 at night. Finally I gave up pussy-footing (ha! I had to) around and just threw myself down on the ground and grabbed her. THAT was fun. She was highly unhappy at that, and decided it was "take a chunk out of Mom" time. However, I maintained my hold and was very happy she had no claws. Grumbling the whole way, I made it back inside the house, securely shut and locked the door so as not to have an instant replay, and dropped her ass in the kitchen. The knees of my capris were black (from my mulch), my hand was bleeding mildly, I'm highly allergic to poison ivy and will probably end up a rashy mess, and all of this before I'd even really gotten in the door! Lovely stuff. So be glad you don't live next to me. I'm a psychotic cat chaser.

It's Friday. I'm actually really glad it's Friday. And not for typical reasons--I have to work all through the weekend. However, the boys and I have some plans this weekend and I'm going to be glad to be out and about a bit. Helps me kick the funk I've been in's ass.

Have a wonderfully safe and fun-filled weekend. Enjoy the falling temps (for those who actually have Fall) and snuggle those you love.

N.

8:45 a.m. - 2003-09-26

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

boxx9000
sixweasels
la-the-sage
singledadguy
nmnohr
Batten
myownjourney
nicim
swimmmer72
stwig
thunderstorm
lerin
theflyingrat
ochweidnit
selaith
rugged