nixtress's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Amish and Oddish

Ryan said a silly thing yesterday that has stuck in my head.

We were discussing random things while driving and he pops out with a question..."Mommmy, why weren't we born Oddish?", says Ry.

I sat there for a second, while my brain whirred away, and then it hit me. He meant Amish. He wanted to know why we weren't born Amish.

And so I explained to him that Amish is a religion and a way of life for them through their religion. We went over some of the more commonplace traditions (no electricity, no cars, no plumbing) and then I asked him if he wanted to be Amish. His response? "Heck NO! I just want to drive the buggy!"

In thinking back, I'm pretty sure either he and I or Trevor and I have had a similar conversation with the same basic response. Boys and their interest in buggies.

It stayed with me because either way you look at it, to a boy of 6 both words made sense. Oddish and Amish. To him, living a different lifestyle, it must seem fairly oddish, although he didn't come across judgemental in anyway, just curious. Simple mispronunciation in overdrive!

***

Why do people stay in relationships that are falling apart? Is it love or an unwillingness to just call it quits? Is it a die-hard last ditch effort or simply a self-punishment? And why is it so hard to face---the ending? When it's obvious to the people involved that they aren't the same people anymore, and that they want separate things from their future and no compromise is going to set it all straight again..wouldn't it make more sense to stop fighting and end it? Are they fighting each other or fighting the situation? Maybe fighting the inevitable?

That whole idea that breaking up is hard to do..why is that? When it's all coming to an end, shouldn't it be easier and less painful to give up the ghost? Rather than cause more pain fighting and fighting and fighting? Because I don't understand exactly what they're fighting for...to save something that's already done or to save the hopes and dreams behind it.

I just don't understand, and I have this hangup about things needing to make sense to me.

***

It's Monday, a rainy cool one. The LyingWeathermen say that today we'll be lucky to hit a high temp of 55 here. Fall is here with a vengeance. I should probably get in gear and dig out all my Fallish/Halloweenish decor. Make my sons very happy.

That sounds like a plan.

Happy Monday all.

N.

8:49 a.m. - 2003-09-29

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

boxx9000
sixweasels
la-the-sage
singledadguy
nmnohr
Batten
myownjourney
nicim
swimmmer72
stwig
thunderstorm
lerin
theflyingrat
ochweidnit
selaith
rugged