nixtress's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Open house and new wallpaper paste inventions.

Open house tonight went just fine. A little difficult as there were two separate classrooms I was supposed to be in, but I managed. Both boys are doing just fine, this ascertained after looking in their data folders and seeing with my own eyes that they're progressing just fine and pretty much on level with the rest of their classes (with exceptions being in reading---both are above average in that department).

The teachers are acceptable to this point and I've yet to have a visceral reaction to either of them (unlike last year where I hated Ry's teacher almost immediately).

I was disturbed by the lack of parents. In each classroom, over half the kids weren't represented. And that strikes me with a very sad note. Don't parents want to be involved in the lives of their children? Or do they just not realize the importance of being active in their school experiences? Perhaps I overdo. My mother wasn't one to come to school for anything, let alone send treats for special days or help with the room parent system. All I can say is that I'm trying.

I made the worlds' worst casserole tonight. Really. It was truly a horrible thing. I think it could easily be used as wallpaper paste in a pinch. Or maybe caulking. A little lumpy perhaps but it'd suffice if necessary.

Or even better---it could be used as a pothole filler, maybe! Go me, solving the ills of the driving world.

I'm a goofy girl (but one who doesn't freak out over not-necessarily-flattering pics).

Night, all.

N.

8:36 p.m. - 2003-09-30

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

boxx9000
sixweasels
la-the-sage
singledadguy
nmnohr
Batten
myownjourney
nicim
swimmmer72
stwig
thunderstorm
lerin
theflyingrat
ochweidnit
selaith
rugged