nixtress's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Creepy nights.

There's a creepy feel to the evenings outside, now, that wasn't there before.

When the breeze blows and the trees sway and the shadows are chased away and blended into dusk, there's a spookiness. My neighbors have all either started or finished putting up their Halloween decor, ghostly outlines and pumpkins galore, skeletons scattered here and there. Some of the trees are beginning to darken into reds and golden hues, and before long will lose those multi-colored leaves. There's an echo in the street outside when the sun goes down and the air carries a whisper. Sitting in the dark on the front porch, I can almost hear that whisper, almost make out the words. It plays on the edges of my consciousness, making the hair on the back of my neck stand up and goosebumps texture my skin. I can smell the woodsmoke from the chimneys in the neighborhood, flavoring the air.

I love Fall. Before long there'll be crispy leaves to wade through on the streets and sidewalks, macabre grins carved into pumpkin flesh, children dressed in colorful costumes giggling between rows of houses, and mulled cider making my home smell so good. Yum.

***

In just a few, I need to go to Grams and make sure she takes her evening meds. The boys have been tucked in and a friend is going to stay with them for the few minutes my outing will take. And then I'll be back and doing my catch-up of diaries.

N.

7:34 p.m. - 2003-10-07

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

boxx9000
sixweasels
la-the-sage
singledadguy
nmnohr
Batten
myownjourney
nicim
swimmmer72
stwig
thunderstorm
lerin
theflyingrat
ochweidnit
selaith
rugged