nixtress's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

pumpking hunting in America

We went pumpkin hunting today, at a farm outside of town. They had fields and fields of pumpkins to choose from and we found perfect pumpkins galore.

Trevor opted for a fat, round one, that set back slightly off axis, like a chubby little man sitting on his heels. Ryan wanted a skinny one, but it had to be perfect! No flat sides for this boy. I chose a peanut shaped one, figuring it had the best shape for a funny face. Altogether we came home with four, two plump and round, two tall and skinny. I promised we'd carve them the week before Beggar's Night. Tomorrow we're going to work on the "plans". Heh.

They're ensconced in my living room right now, watching the second Atlantis movie and munching on popcorn. I watched for a time and found myself half asleep so I snuck off for an update. In addition to the pumpkin hunt, the farm featured an 8 acre corn maze, a petting zoo and various other exhibitions. Trevor was quite taken with the baby goats. Ryan, I think, couldn't have cared less. It was fun.

We ran into one of the detectives from work, the only female one, there with her son. He's an amazing guy, having been born with a disorder that only 6 other children in the world have. It's something genetic, something that allows him to get sick to the point of almost death from germs that would hardly touch anyone else's child. I don't know the technical name for it, something that involves some numbers, but I think there was a movie once about it..something about a boy and a bubble.

At any rate, she goes through alot with him, and it was nice to see them out and about.

The ladybugs I think I mentioned once before? They're actually called Multi-colored Asian Lady Beetles (now known as MALB's) and I read an article this week about them. Apparently, they divebomb me because they think I look like a giant aphid. And when they bite me? They're actually eating microbes off my skin. RIGHT! They're biting ME! Not the stinking microbes. Nasty little things. They're much more aggressive than the everyday ladybug. It's just wacky.

I'm tired tonight, worn out not only from our afternoon adventures but also because I slept like crap last night. There are a gazillion things going on in my life right now, some of them beyond difficult to work through, and it's mussing up my sleep schedule.

We made a trip to Toys R Us today, not only to pick up our pre-ordered Lion King DVD (and plush Geoffrey the Giraffe talking animal) but also got the movie the boys are watching now. And Ryan got Mighty Beanz. These things are just plain wierd. I'm not sure exactly what it is that makes them so wiggly but he loves them. Out of a package of six, he scored by getting one dressed as Elvis, holding a hamburger. Ry was ecstatic.

Ah well, back to the movie with me.

G'night all.

N. and in addition, GO HERE and see how much of the 80's you remember!!

8:35 p.m. - 2003-10-11

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

boxx9000
sixweasels
la-the-sage
singledadguy
nmnohr
Batten
myownjourney
nicim
swimmmer72
stwig
thunderstorm
lerin
theflyingrat
ochweidnit
selaith
rugged