nixtress's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I'm such a klutz

I think I concussed myself. I got up at 4 am, to do those middle of the night things like pee and drink yet more water, and when I crawled back into bed, I smacked my head on the corner of my headboard. Don't ask how that's even possible, with my klutzy self anything is. I dropped back into bed, and immediately touched the spot I'd bonked, causing yet another lightning strike of pain. Skin was not broken, however a nice goose egg was forming. I stayed in bed until 6ish, not able to sleep but not wanting to get up either, and when I finally did get up, I had headache central. And felt a tiny bit woozy. I'm so good--who else in the world do you know that can damn near knock themselves out on a headboard? Sheesh.

I'm a dangerous girl.

That reminds me of a scene I witnessed when going into work the other day. I had pulled into the employee parking lot and as I exited my vehicle and trekked up to where the officers park their cruisers I noticed one of them getting out of his car. He then promptly slammed his finger in the door, after having already hit the lock button. So with his left hand he had grab his keys off the right side of his belt, fumble them into the car lock, all the while trying not to curse his head off from having his fingers caught in the door. I don't know if it was the look on his face or the absurdity of watching a law officer smash his fingers in the door, but I burst into laughter. He wasn't amused.

I love Ohio weather. And I mean that. It's pouring rain again, tamping down all the leaves that have fallen but with little wind. It's beautifully overcast. Yesterday it was sunny and almost 75. I think it's all of 41 right now and not supposed to get much higher. I've grown up with this kaleidoscope of seasons and weather and I don't know what I'd do with sunshine all the time. Get really sunburned probably. Intermittently, between the songs coming through the headphones of my cd player (don't ask why I have on headphones when I'm home alone, as I have no idea!), I can hear the spattering of rain on the wood of the deck. Such a nice rhythm.

Trev's teacher called last night and we had a nice long discussion. Apparently she'd not read his file yet, had not understood a thing I was saying when I'd previously mentioned his behaviors. *sigh*

I'm in a tight spot, trying not to have my son labeled right off the get go, but still trying to make these teachers aware of what could possibly occur in their dealings with Trevor. Not an easy thing.

***

I found a goofy pumpkin site this morning. Go look at some of the adult ideas that they've come up with for pumpkin carving.

Which reminds me that this weekend is finalization of costuming for the boys and jack-o-lantern making for us. Mmmhmm. Now I just need to find someone to bribe into staying at my house to hand out candy while I take the boys back to our old neighborhood to trick or treat!

I think I've quite rambled on enough here. I'm off to catch up on diaries.

Happy Humpday, all.

N.

*** I'm listening to the Violent Femmes again, used to love them beyond reason. Familiar with them? You should be. Really. Gotta love the Femmes. Beats that kicked some ass...I was such a teenager then. *sigh*

8:19 a.m. - 2003-10-22

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

boxx9000
sixweasels
la-the-sage
singledadguy
nmnohr
Batten
myownjourney
nicim
swimmmer72
stwig
thunderstorm
lerin
theflyingrat
ochweidnit
selaith
rugged