nixtress's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Rant in a big way

I'm disturbed (big surprise, eh?)

We all knew there's been something wrong with the departments that handle childrens' protection, right? In recent years especially, it's been brought to the public attention that there are areas where those agencies are severely lacking.

I heard something tonight that made me wonder if these are even real agencies and if so, if they're manned by people with their heads in their asses?

Forgive me for the bluntness there, but what sort of protection are they providing when they go into a home 38 times in 2years, in most recent reports claim the children in that home are "thriving and happy", and then four of those "thriving and happy" children are hospitalized due to severe malnutrition? Someone tell me exactly how normal it is for a 19 year old MAN to weigh in at 49 pounds!!! Someone tell me how they can be thriving when four males collectively weigh in at 140 pounds?? That's combined, people. Four males had a combined weight of 140 lbs. Someone tell me how these adoptive parents have gotten away with this as long as they have!

Schools are mandatory reporters. Are we to accept that they had made reports and the ball was dropped after that?

Someone tell me how the police weren't called by neighbors, or the school or someone?!

And if they weren't, why the hell NOT?? Do they live in a neighborhood full of assmunches? I don't buy the theory that this was a case that "fell through the cracks". And to be honest, I'm damn tired of that being an acceptable excuse in these sorts of situations. If you're paid to do a job, then damn well do that job, especially when it's a kid's life that hangs in the balance.

I tend to lean towards the idea that, invasion of privacy or not, if I believe a child is being abused, or seriously neglected or WEIGHS FRIGGIN' 45 POUNDS AT NINETEEN, it's my DUTY as a HUMAN BEING to report this to someone somewhere and if that gets NO result, to go up the ladder and contact someone else.

I'm not speaking out of turn here. If not for childrens' rights, then for basic human rights. No one has the right to do to these children what was done to them. Not a parent, not a system designed and supposed to protect and work FOR these children, not even an overworked/underpaid social worker.

Step up to plate, people, and start doing at least the bare minimum here.

Want to know what I'm talking about?

Check this out.

That's my rant. Something I feel pretty strongly about. Tired of the copouts and just wanting people to pay attention to one of the things that shape our future---our children.

***

Tonight was Scouts, involving lots of confusion and not much else. I called the leader (who conveniently wasn't there, and declined to let any of us know that he wasn't going to be) and inquired what could be done to smoothe this out just a little. However, his answering machine wasn't in the mood to answer back so I suppose I'll be waiting.

On that note, I'm off.

G'night all.

N.

9:15 p.m. - 2003-10-27

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

boxx9000
sixweasels
la-the-sage
singledadguy
nmnohr
Batten
myownjourney
nicim
swimmmer72
stwig
thunderstorm
lerin
theflyingrat
ochweidnit
selaith
rugged