nixtress's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

nuts and bolts and bolts and nuts

I can't take a compliment for crud. No, really, I can't. Someone paid me one this morning, commented that I'd done a good job of being a good sister, and I totally brushed it off. And I realized that, as idiotic as it sounds, I was uncomfortable with that statement. I'm not sure exactly why, perhaps because I keep telling myself that there are so many people that do a much better job of making the best of their lives than I do...I dunno.

Chalk that up as yet another of my quirks, I suppose, and make a larger effort to accept compliments gracefully.

The boys and I made all veggie stir fry last night and it was so good. They love helping out and I love spending the time with them. It was a riot. I think I have budding chefs on my hands. Trevor used to watch cooking shows with me and kept reminding me to bend under my fingers when chopping the veggies so as to not cut off my fingertip. Funny boy.

It's supposed to be almost 70 here tomorrow, cooler in the evening but not cold. I'm so glad for that as Halloween costumes lose their punch when covered with jackets! Trick or treating should be fairly pleasant.

I'll be spending my morning baking cupcakes for the boys' Halloween parties on Friday, and frosting them up. Half will be decorated as jack-o-lanterns and the other half with spiderwebs. I'll be a big old sticky mess. Sweet. (literally!)

All this typing about food is making me hungry. Tummy is even rumbling. I don't suppose it helps that I'm watching the chocolate guy, Jacques Whateverhisnameis, on FoodTv.

*insert sigh here*

Food. I'm off to forage.

N.

12:20 p.m. - 2003-10-29

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

boxx9000
sixweasels
la-the-sage
singledadguy
nmnohr
Batten
myownjourney
nicim
swimmmer72
stwig
thunderstorm
lerin
theflyingrat
ochweidnit
selaith
rugged