nixtress's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

tea dye, tie dye

I'm (im)patiently waiting for water to boil, so that I may steep some tea to dye more cheesecloth for Trevor's zombie costume. I am now a true believer of the old adage "A watched pot never boils" because believe me, I've been a-watchin'.

It's so incredibly quiet here right now. The boys have FINALLY succumbed to the sweet draw a sleep (and the threats of no trick or treating for grumpy, sleepless boys).

***

After discussion at conferences, Trev's teacher and I have begun a new system for him. At this particular elementary school, infractions of the rules are met with card-pulling. You break a rule, you pull one color card, and so on and so forth. One of Trev's triggers is the whole cardpulling thing. He's really really hard on himself and he has meltdowns over the strangest things (part of the whole autistic spectrum thing, or so I've read) so we've devised a new system for him. Instead of starting out with no cards pulled, he starts at the bottom of the stack and works his way up. Much less emphasis put on the negative this way, and it gives him goals to work towards. One thing I've found to be golden with him is positive reinforcement. And this, hopefully, will help us achieve that.

***

My cloth is finally settled into it's nice pot of tea, turning a lovely shade of grunge. I'm thinking we'll try this with Kool-aid too. Think of the rainbow colors we'll concoct! And kid friendly processes too.

Such lovely ideas that spring forth at times.

I'm not actually sure why I'm updating this again tonight. I don't have much of merit to say, don't have anything pressingly on my mind. And I don't know that there are many people who actually enjoy my babblings about my life and my children. And yet I find myself here again, blathering on.

Perhaps it's a mental purging of sorts, an unloading of space being held by mundane things..

or maybe I'm just feeling really bored and goofy!

***

I'm going to fry my brain in Yahoo Literati. Have a lovely evening all.

N.

8:40 p.m. - 2003-10-29

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

boxx9000
sixweasels
la-the-sage
singledadguy
nmnohr
Batten
myownjourney
nicim
swimmmer72
stwig
thunderstorm
lerin
theflyingrat
ochweidnit
selaith
rugged