nixtress's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Snacks and mice..not the same thing.

I've semi-recovered from my speeding ticket fit. And I'm officially now known as the Snack Lady. So sayeth many small boys, happy to have munchies tonight.

Scouts was fun (for all of us, for once) and interesting. The boys are really enjoying this gathering together and learning thing. And damned if I don't enjoy watching them branch out their social circles and just plain grow.

We came home to find Freya and Wraith huddled at the end of the couch, looking much like deer caught in the headlights. That's when I happened to notice Freya had something..dangling from her mouth. My darling little hunters caught not one but TWO field mice tonight. I'm very proud of them. Keep in mind that these kitties are acting purely on instinct, having lived in a large metal cage prior to living with us. These kitties were never taught the fine art of hunt and pounce. They led very sheltered kittenhoods. And just now, while I sat typing this, Wraith came in with yet another field mouse!! I'm stoked. The hard part is that they don't want to give up the carcasses. And I don't relish the idea of them tucking the dead beasties away for later. Ick. So I get to chase them around trying to finagle their "treasures" from them. I figured it was coming, with the weather getting colder and all. Every Fall since we moved here the field mice come in, through the garage and eventually into the house. Cruddy things. And now my kitties have become Great White Mouse Hunters. Yay.

Happy Monday evening. I think I'm finally done with the fifty million updates for the day. And probably till late tomorrow afternoon---I'm working dayshift tomorrow. Getting up way too early and having to be ..happy should be interesting! Wish me luck.

Night night.

N.

8:51 p.m. - 2003-11-10

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

boxx9000
sixweasels
la-the-sage
singledadguy
nmnohr
Batten
myownjourney
nicim
swimmmer72
stwig
thunderstorm
lerin
theflyingrat
ochweidnit
selaith
rugged