nixtress's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

kibble and bits and bits and bits

I worked today with the new UniformSniffer and Girl who doesn't bathe much. 'Nuff said.

Strangely, ACDC was playing on the radio when I got out of the car and then when I got back in it this afternoon. Pretty good timing, all in all.

After work the boys and I decided we wanted to see a movie and unanimously chose Brother Bear. It's definitely a more masculine movie, with a fairly decent storyline about brothers and humanity in general. Phil Collins did alot of the soundtrack which surprised me a bit but was not bad. Trevor's tender heart was made sad by a few parts but overall, not a bad movie.

Then we went to WallyWorld and spent money on goofy things like new Christmas-oriented window clings and Christmas cards, nightlight bulbs and a gift bag for the present Trevor's giving at tomorrow's bday party.

One of the things I fondly remember from Christmas at my Gram's house was that she had the neatest nativity scene, made of thick, heavy plaster and painted by my Grams, all nestled in a manger that my Grandpa made by hand. I loved that set, and always knew Christmas was coming when Grams dug it out. And I've been looking for a decent set for our home now. Sort of a hand-me-down tradition.

My grandparents are both Catholic and raised their children in that faith. My father is a non-practicing Catholic and my mother is a non-practicing Lutheran, which is basically just a watered down version of Catholicism. Another tradition with my Grams and Grandpa was midnight mass on Christmas Eve. I've tried to carry that down to my sons as well. Not sure why, really, other than I loved doing it with my grandparents.

I'm tired, still off on my sleep schedule and having to work in the morning again. I think I'm going to do a little catch up and then go to bed.

Happy Saturday :)

N.

9:30 p.m. - 2003-11-15

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

boxx9000
sixweasels
la-the-sage
singledadguy
nmnohr
Batten
myownjourney
nicim
swimmmer72
stwig
thunderstorm
lerin
theflyingrat
ochweidnit
selaith
rugged