nixtress's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Yesterday capped off the week from hell

And where to start...

yesterday capped off my week from hell.

In addition to this hellacious cold I'm fighting (and seem to be beating, for the most part) Ryan's managed to put himself in the First Grade Larceny Hall of Fame, not to mention the HUGE incident from yesterday that very well may involve an in-depth interview with an officer from the Sex Crimes Unit at my place of employment.

Ready for this?

The principal at my sons' school called yesterday afternoon and asked me to come to her office. I get there and she sets a picture down in front of me and asks me what I see. It was a paper Christmas stocking, with a gingerbread man glued to it, and the gingerbread man had been decorated. In looking more closely at this gingerbread man, I see that some clever child has drawn a pair of underpants on this gingerfellow, as well as a rather lopsided belly button, a pair of sneakers, curly hair, a mouth with tongue hanging out and a block in it's hand with these letters drawn on it "S-O-P-E".

The principal then proceeds to tell me that she feels this picture indicates that my son Ryan has been molested or exposed to something sexual. She points to the lopsided bellybutton and proclaims it a penis. She points to the tongue sticking out and says it has a lascivious meaning. She says the indication of soap in the gingerbread man's hand means the child drawing the picture felt dirty.

I sat there, in shock, trying to grasp everything she was tossing at me. And then asked if the soap could have simply been an indicator that the child drawing this picture had had his mouth washed out with soap twice during the week for lying to me, and the tongue might have been a method of showing that it tasted bad? And if that blob was not a bellybutton, as I thought it was, if it was a penis, why did he bother drawing underwear first?

Now, understand, if someone has hurt my child in any way,shape or form, I'm first in line to tear them limb from limb. And that might be too nice of a description. I know my son, though. I know that as much family as he's exposed to, he'd have told SOMEONE if this was happening to him. Granted, I've been thrown this week by the whole stealing thing as well. And I agree that it's unlike him and there's a cause somewhere that I'm not grasping yet. I just don't think this gingerfellow picture is it. In questioning Ry, he denied anything sexual in nature at all. And looked at all of us like we were crazy. I can generally tell when my son is lying, and he was clear as could be on this point.

After much soul searching, and bouncing of ideas off of police officers, I've decided at this point to allow an investigator (female) that I trust and know very well to do an interview with Ry, just to be safe. Just in case I've missed something somewhere, and to cover all bases. Honestly, I think the principal jumped on something. And while I can't fault her for being observant and trying to do her job, I really think she needed to ask him to define the picture before she jumped to conclusions. She latched on to this molestation thing pretty hardcore, which bothers me just a bit.

Ry's stealing happened on Monday and Tuesday and there have been no further incidents since. I'm hoping I made my point rather clearly and that's why it's all stopped. If we find that it hasn't, it's counseling city.

This is the not-so-fun part of parenting..the uncertainties, and wanting to make sure you're protecting your child without over-protecting.

I have a mountain of things to do today and really need to get moving. Have a great day, all. Happy Friday.

N.

8:34 a.m. - 2003-12-19

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

boxx9000
sixweasels
la-the-sage
singledadguy
nmnohr
Batten
myownjourney
nicim
swimmmer72
stwig
thunderstorm
lerin
theflyingrat
ochweidnit
selaith
rugged