nixtress's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

(Our) Christmas morning

After I tucked my jazzed and giggling boys into bed, I finished straightening my house and then began the chores every parent loves so much: wrapping presents and assembling those that needed it. And I also came to the same conclusion I do every year: toy companies and battery companies are in cahoots.

I spent quite some time getting everything all papered and ribboned, then settled under the tree. My aunt and uncle (angels both) brought their presents for the boys down as well. In past years, they've come over in the mornings as the boys open things, to watch and enjoy a cup o'coffee and the squeals of happiness. This year, due to Grams being there and no one else in the family feeling very giving, they weren't able to continue our tradition.

To digress just a bit, you should know my aunt Bert is one of those organized Christmas people. She's generally got all her shopping done by Thanksgiving. And she keeps an eagle eye on good deals through the year as well.

Ryan received one of those Masters of the Universe Castle Greyskull's, complete with figures. It came in this monstrosity of a box with a set of directions to match. And I spent quite an amount of time assembling one of those lovely Hot Wheels/Matchbox car track thingies (T-Wrecks? in the shape of a dinosaur that spits cars out its mouth), that takes twelve years to set up, two minutes to take apart and makes so much noise you can't hear yourself think...needless to say, they love it.

They have had a very nice morning. And I, because of that, have had one as well. They've enjoyed everything they unwrapped, even the clothing Aunt Bert got them (yep, my boys get excited about clothes. I think my wierd ways have rubbed off). It's been nice, to sit in my p.j.'s watching them shred paper and crow with happiness.

I vowed this year to write myself a note for next, reminding myself of the simple joys they give me. Sort of a reminder to not stress quite so much, not to sweat the small stuff, because my boys will enjoy getting ANYTHING. And they don't count how many gifts are under the tree. That's all on me.

Officially, Ryan is up to his elbows in Mighty Beanz now. Cute little things. And the cats do NOT like remote control cars.

***

I have to work tonight, with AnalWoman. Hopefully, she's feeling relaxed and not uptight about anything. Regardless, I'm not stressing tonight about anything. I'll just...ignore her or something! This is a day of peace for me, relaxing and just chillin' my jets. This next week is full and busy and I need to just enjoy the day as it is.

Happy Sunday.

N.

1:22 p.m. - 2003-12-21

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

boxx9000
sixweasels
la-the-sage
singledadguy
nmnohr
Batten
myownjourney
nicim
swimmmer72
stwig
thunderstorm
lerin
theflyingrat
ochweidnit
selaith
rugged