nixtress's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Christmas over and done with.

Where do I start...

I heard so many times from so many people that this Christmas just didn't FEEL like Christmas, and that they had a heck of a time getting in the spirit of things and I had to concur. In my diary catchup today, I'm seeing that idea mirrored in entry after entry.

It's been an exhausting week, in all forms and for most everyone, it seems.

The boys have dump truck loads of new belongings to keep them occupied (what the heck was I worrying over again?) and my house is back in some semblance of order.

I spent yesterday, sicker than sick (you thought I was going to say a dog, didn't you?), with much time spent hugging/sitting on the porcelain god. And because I was scheduled to work first shift today, have now managed to piss off the entire department by calling off work and making them cover my shift. I just wasn't sure I was going to feel better by 7 am and sure as heck wasn't going to work in the condition I was in!! Go, me.

***

Everyone liked the gifts we gave...a great thing since we had limited funds. And the boys were very happy with everything they received, even the clothes! We've scrawled out a couple thank you notes, which are just darling. They've finally hit an age where they can start this joyous task. Good manners can't be beat.

My mother gave me a Little Green Bissel--which will be invaluable. Priceless!! I was tickled. And I got, from family members, the beginnings of a button collection. To explain a bit, understand that I'm really big into family traditions and history. And one thing I remember from my great grandmother's house was her button collection, all the colors and shapes, etc. I'm a homey gal, what can I say? Made me a very HAPPY homey gal. Maybe I should start a Diaryland button collection too. Everyone send me a button!

***

And as things begin to return to the humdrum here, I'm hoping they are for everyone out there as well. It's nice to have things back in their own spaces, to have things put away and at least semi-organized again. That's a gift all in itself.

Happy Saturday after Christmas.

N.

3:28 p.m. - 2003-12-27

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

boxx9000
sixweasels
la-the-sage
singledadguy
nmnohr
Batten
myownjourney
nicim
swimmmer72
stwig
thunderstorm
lerin
theflyingrat
ochweidnit
selaith
rugged