nixtress's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

What starts out good sometimes takes a turn for the worse

We saw "Cheaper by the Dozen" tonight, and it was really quite funny. Had some nice family values and was a good family flick.

And then we came home to a message on my answering machine from my ex.

His mother died in her sleep last night.

She had ALS aka Lou Gehrig's Disease and it escalated rapidly. They put in a feeding tube a few weeks ago, but she'd refused any sort of help.

Apparently my ex brother-in-law found her in her bed this morning.

She wasn't that old, and it bothers me a great deal. I take some comfort in the thought that she was sleeping, and that since her body was betraying her very independent spirit, it's probably easier for her now..but it still makes me very sad. She was such a huge part of my past, a steadying part.

Monday evening are the calling hours and I'll be going, just to pay my respects. In some ways it's a tad uncomfortable due to the ex status, but necessary.

Sad day.

N.

11:47 p.m. - 2004-01-03

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

boxx9000
sixweasels
la-the-sage
singledadguy
nmnohr
Batten
myownjourney
nicim
swimmmer72
stwig
thunderstorm
lerin
theflyingrat
ochweidnit
selaith
rugged